The Provincial Legislatures may also make laws under Sect. 95 in relation to agriculture and immigration subject to any laws of the Parliament of Canada in relation to these subjects.

Provincial Franchise.—Details regarding qualifications and disqualifications of the franchise are contained in the Elections Act of each province. In general, every person, male or female, at the age of 21 years, who is a Canadian citizen or a British subject, who complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. These qualifications apply with modifications to voters in most provinces. The principal exception gives voting privileges to persons in Saskatchewan at the age of 18 and in Alberta and British Columbia at 19 years.

Subsection 1.—Newfoundland

The Government of Newfoundland consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. At May 1, 1957, Colonel the Honourable Sir Leonard Outerbridge was Lieutenant-Governor of the Province; he was commissioned on Sept. 5, 1949.

The Legislative Assembly has 36 members elected for a term of five years. The Legislature elected Oct. 2, 1956 is the 31st in the history of Newfoundland and the 3rd since Confederation.

The Premier and each Cabinet Minister receives a salary of \$7,000 per annum plus a sessional indemnity of \$3,000. Each Member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,000. An additional allowance of \$2,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

14.—Legislatures of Newfoundland since Confederation and Ministry as at May 1, 1957 Legislatures 1949-57

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
May 27, 1949 Nov. 26, 1951 Oct. 2, 1956	1st	4 7 1	July 13, 1949 Mar. 12, 1952 Mar. 20, 1957	Nov. 3, 1951 Sept. 10, 1956

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at May 1, 1957.

First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 2, 1956: 32 Liberals and 4 Progressive Conservatives.) Note.—Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment	
Premier and Minister of Economic Development. Attorney General. Minister of Mines and Resources. Minister of Labour. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Education. Minister of Education. Minister of Provincial Affairs. Solicitor General. Minister of Highways. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Municipal Affairs and Supply. Minister of Health.	Hon. J. R. SMALLWOOD. Hon. L. R. CURTIS Hon. W. J. KEOUGH HON. C. H. BALLAM. HON. S. J. HEFFERTON HON. E. S. SENCER. HON. J. LEWIS. HON. F. W. ROWE. HON. P. J. LEWIS. HON. MYLES P. MURRAY. HON. MYLES P. MURRAY. HON. G. J. POWER. HON. J. T. CHEESEMAN. HON. B. J. ABBOTT. HON. J. M. MCGRATH	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 July 29, 1949 Apr. 4, 1950 May 21, 1952 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 Dec. 15, 1951 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957 May 1, 1957	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 May 1, 1957 Apr. 4, 1950 Apr. 10, 1955 May 1, 1957	